Bolting upright, wrapping my hands around my throat, I feel as if I am choking. Deep hacking coughs rake my body. 

I can smell smoke and charred wood, as if a raging bonfire has been lit in my room. My eyes dart around frantically. Everything seems in order. I take deep breaths. My over-active mind begins to calm down.

  The evidence of the latest nightmare fades away, leaving my nerves a tangled mess.

  Just another dream, I reassure myself. They feel lifelike, so real, that each dream is unsettling.

  I have been having nightmares for as long as I can remember. They used to come every now and then. But now my mind won’t let me rest. They come every night, leaving their evidence behind.

 

secerts-of-the-mind

photogrsGooglePlus-logos-02ft

Leave a Reply

